Invite a friend
"Step Back into a 1950 Valentine's Day" Exhibit
"Step Back into a 1950s Valentine's Day” Exhibit
The 1950s Park Forest House Museum, at 141 Forest Blvd in Park Forest, Illinois is decorated throughout February with vintage valentines and decorations. One room represents a classroom in the first school, Forest Boulevard School, which was set up in a row of townhomes in 1949. In February, the classroom is decorated for a 1950s Valentines Day party with crepe paper candy baskets, and construction paper heart-shaped valentine “mailboxes” on each desk. Red honeycomb, puffy hearts and vintage valentines are on display throughout the house.
The museum is an original rental townhome furnished as it might have been from 1948-1953. A museum visit is a great way to get acquainted with Park Forest Illinois' unique history as the first fully-planned post-World War II suburb. It is a nostalgic trip down Memory Lane for anyone who lived in the 1950s or 1960s, or for those interested in that period, and offers a great destination for a “staycation.” Visitors are encouraged to open drawers, cupboards and closets to discover period treasures inside. Contents of the house, furnished as though a young veteran and his family occupy it, includes dolls, toys, dollhouses, books, dishes, serving pieces, furniture and clothing from the period. When is the last time you said, "Hello," to Howdy Doody?
A guide will tell village history, and social and fashion trends of the era. The museum has added free on street parking, right outside the front door.
During the annual January closing, the society changed some of the furnishings in the museum. For those who have missed it, the stove has been returned to the kitchen, and some pieces have been added to the living room and dining room.
Marshall Field's Park Forest Store bricks are for sale at the museum. Bricks are 1 for $15; 2 for $25.
Operated by the Park Forest Historical Society and sponsored by Central Park Apartments, the museum is open in February Wednesdays from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.; Saturdays from 10 a.m.-3 p.m.; or for school tours and small groups by appointment; closed in January. Donation is $5 for adults; children 12 and under are free with a paying adult. The museum tour is free with purchase of a brick.
Contact Jane Nicoll, Museum Director at 708-481-4252 for appointments or with an interest in volunteering. Learn about the Museum and the Society at www.parkforesthistory.org