.

'What About the Rest of the Sins That Are Not Illegal?' Patch Comments of the Week

The south suburban reaction to the president's endorsement of gay marriage sets off a wide-ranging debate on civil rights and religion.

In response to the South Suburban Patch network's  poll, several Patch commenters opened up a debate.

, from Oak Lawn Patch, writes:

"You can't make gay marriage illegal because it's a sin. ... What about the rest of the sins that are currently not illegal? Gluttony is a perfect example. If gay marriage is going to be illegal on the grounds of it being a sin, then it should be illegal to be overweight."

, from Homewood-Flossmoor Patch, writes:

"I believe in small government. I believe government should stay out of our bedrooms and out of our decisions over our own bodies. I believe that without choice there is no freedom. I believe every person should have the right to choose."

, from Oak Forest Patch, writes:

"The problem for me with gay marriage is what it then leads to. The wanting to 'adopt' kids, and raise them in an unnatural environment." 

 

. Want to know more? Read the south suburban reaction to President Obama's endorsement of gay marriage rights in .

 

 

David May 16, 2012 at 04:41 PM
Homosexuality is not a choice, its a fact of nature. That was my point. All humans are animals, Bob--you know this, right? And sexuality (a defining component of one's life) is not the same as passing moments of anger or seeking the escape of drugs. So your solution to someone who has a natural homosexual inclination is that they should "choose" to be heterosexual and deny all homosexual inclinations. I hope you realize that for most homosexuals this would be impossible, or at the very least self-destructive. It is not your right to demand that a person lives in misery. It is not your right to demand that your moral code should determine who gets to have a full, rich life and who doesn't. I wish you could recognize your blindness.
Chronicles of Bob May 16, 2012 at 05:32 PM
Hi, I'm Bob. I'm white and I'm entitled. I think being poor, gay, and a minority is a choice. If people worked hard like me and raised their children with my moral views the world would be a better place.
Bob May 16, 2012 at 06:14 PM
Gee, David, Blaine, it seems you don't even know your own name, apparently thinking it's "Bob" and expressing an alter ego. Why I am not surprised?LOL
Deb Hartung May 16, 2012 at 06:17 PM
David Blaine, I love how you assume that Bob is white!! As if you have to be white and rich to have a problem with homosexuality. Wrong! There are plenty of black southern Baptists that share that view. I do agree with you that the morals of this world have gone down!
Bob May 16, 2012 at 06:19 PM
What you simply don't get, DAVID, is that we DON"T CARE if you're in the closet or swishing on the street. You're being offensive may be inappropriate, but that's free speech. Marine fought for that. What YOU are blind to is that you're trying to oppress US by forcing acceptance and promotion of your lifestyle on us, and want to punish us for any "thought crime" if we don't accept and support that lifestyle. I'll make you deal.....you stay out of my pocketbook and out of my childrens classrooms, and I'll stay out of you sequened closet!LOL
Chronicles of Bob May 16, 2012 at 06:29 PM
Hi, I'm Bob. Today I chose to eat a hamburger. Yesterday I would have chosen to sodomize some of my friends, but thank goodness for my parents great parenting skills and I chose not to. I ended up having some folgers and read a book instead. I wish my poor friend David was a good parent because who knows what lies in the future.
Bob May 16, 2012 at 06:30 PM
Homsexuality IS a choice for human beings, David, just as sexual activities for heteros are. Most married heteros have "impure thoughts" about others besides their spouses, and often have opportunities to act on it. An animal would just do it, but a HUMAN has a choice about infidelity that defines them as a person. It''s the same with gay people. You may have urges, but a human being has a choice about acting on them. Let's face it...people can "couple" with anything from a right hand to inanimate objects. That's just a physical act, and is a choice. Having a committed REALTIONSHIP is apart from that. Someone may be a killer, but choose not to kill. Someone may have the mindset and complusioins of a rapist, but choose not to rape. A gay person may be attracted to someone of the same gender, but performing sodomy is a CHOICE! Don't sell yourself short, David. You are the product of the choices you make. If you choose to sodomize, that's none of my business, or the government's. Just take responsiblity for your choices, and don't expect others to validate them with treasure and government tyranny.
Marine Sniper May 16, 2012 at 06:31 PM
Marine Sniper said: I do not understand why there is never a reply box in your posts or comments. Is this by your choice, David? My response to you,Davey. Your pessimistic ranting of my having used the word, negate, baffles me. You have distorted it's meaning to fit your weak and non-thought provoking rebuttal. That it is (or should be) morally correct and justified to sodomize a human being, of the same gender. Well, you know what, Davey, it is my opinion, and that of hundreds of millions of other human beings, it is not morally, politically, Biblically, or mythic-ally, correct. It is nothing more than a self-satisfying act of depravity. You and your self-congratulatory thoughts have no substance. Davey, I do not know if you are a father or not. I do know this, I would truly wish and implore you not in anyway shape or form to try and convey your thoughts, which are no more than lies, to my children or anyone's children. You are the type of person that would twist a child's reasoning to be parallel with yours. You would not hesitate to draw them into the same "sexual misery" that you yourself suffer. You poses the same ostentatious and condescending attributes it would take to confuse our young and hopefully innocent children. You should be and are to be WATCHED as being a self-appointed, degrading "social engineer", of our young and innocent. ..........Semper Fi. Keep your distance from my young! Semper Fi!
Chronicles of Bob May 16, 2012 at 06:32 PM
Hi Deb, I never said that you have to be rich and white to have a problem with homosexuality. I just don't think Bob has a grip on reality. I am sure he is the guy that has an answer for everything, probably thinks teachers are to blame for failing students, and thinks poor people are lazy. However, maybe I am assuming to much. Thanks for reading though.
phxdr May 16, 2012 at 06:53 PM
Marine sniper- A friend of the family was in the service and fought over in Iraq so your "I am in the military and do not believe in gay marriage" argument is not going to work...you can't pull the military service card and expect it to make wrong views ok. I want to address the "not natural" argument. Alexander the Great (the greatest warrior to ever live) was a homosexual. Try and read some books about Alexander and his partner Hephaestion sometime. Homosexuality is found in thousands of species in nature...it is not something new and is natural. What defines morals? The bible? That is a laugh!
phxdr May 16, 2012 at 06:57 PM
Bob- Most of Hitler's high ranks were also Christians. I don't accept your lifestyle as a Christian Bob. Lets face it is not natural to believe in something not there. I am also sick of you being critical of myself as a freethinker and other agnostic-athiests speaking out against your poor lifestyle as a Christian.....wow works on this issue as well.
phxdr May 16, 2012 at 07:10 PM
You people who have reason have to understand something. Bob and Marine do not have it because they believe in a imaginary space daddy, a zombie Jew (Christ) who rose from the dead, giant arks and floods and a ancient book that is so flawed it would be funny if not for the amount of people believing it with electrical fires in their heads. Being a Christian is a "choice" and as such we should not have this lifestyle shoved upon us that have reason on our side. I don't want my kids to hear your nonsense as in my family we use bibles to start our fireplace in the winter. So stop trying to silence myself and other who are critical of your "Christian" lifestyle because it is not normal.
Marine Sniper May 16, 2012 at 07:20 PM
Semper Fi! Marine Sniper said: No reply box in your post. Your volition? No,phxdr, YOU ARE A LAUGH! What type of "military service card" am I trying to pull? By no means am I patting my self on the back. I was awarded 3 Purple Hearts and 2 Bronze Stars with COMBAT "V"s. DO NOT try to school me on military "virtue". You make yourself a doltish "item", indeed. The way you speak of Alexander the Great "(the greatest warrior to ever live) was a homosexual", you sound like one whom is infatuated, in awe, and in love. If he was a homosexual does that make the act natural? You speak like a, dolt. Again, your choice. I left my blood in the rice-paddies and jungles of Vietnam so people like you could sodomize a willing human being of the same gender. Be thankful I gave my blood so that you could enjoy your depravity, unknowing to me at the time. Stay away from my children! Semper Fi!
Chronicles of Bob May 16, 2012 at 07:42 PM
Sniper, why do you keep speaking in third person? You don't have to announce yourself everytime you post. Lol... I enjoyed it when you said you don't pat yourself on the back and then proceeded to tell us how many awards you've won. Covey leader this raven, come in Rambo. Sir, in Nam they would let me drive 30 million dollar tanks. Now, back in the states me and Bob have to deal with these gays. I didnt spill my blood for them.
Chronicles of Bob May 16, 2012 at 07:43 PM
Oh, and i left you a comment box.... lol...
phxdr May 16, 2012 at 07:45 PM
Marine- Stay away from my children (they are brought up not to believe in imaginary gods). My family friend who fought in Iraq is gay. That was the point I was making. I am not in love infatuated or in awe. You see the problem I have is that a person whom my family knows real well and respects is being treated as a second class citizen by yourself and others like you. I know this information not because I am some homosexual in the closet as you are trying to imply but because I read books. Stay away from my kids and keep your Christian beliefs to yourself as I find them morally wrong!
Marine Sniper May 16, 2012 at 07:59 PM
Truthfully? Habit from another forum. If I had just came out and said how many medals I was awarded, you would have had a problem with that, also. You sound like a wimpish type person. Am I right? You sound like you would have made a great draft-dodger, back'n the day. Oh, and BTW medals aren't "won" they are "awarded", you DOLT! Semper Fi!
Billable Hours May 16, 2012 at 09:04 PM
All this time some our our worlds most brilliant minds have argued Nature vs. Nurture and if they just read Palos Patch blogs they would realize it's a choice. As hetrosexuals how could we possibly know for sure (without strongly insane opinion/bias like it's being spewed here)? What's next guys want to tell women what it's like being pregnant? You want to debate that same sex couples shouldn't raise kids because maybe arguing Nurture they'd be predisposed to homosexuality then opinions and guessing would be appropriate, but for hetrosexuals to be stating what makes someone homosexual is not!!!! I'll refrain from listing my life's achievements and awards. I hope that doesn't make me a stupid wimp!
Chronicles of Bob May 16, 2012 at 09:18 PM
Well said BH....It's to bad the marines arent here to defendthe the weak and wimpish like myself. To be loyal and defend their country and its citizens no matter what. Oh wait, now im embarrassed, those things are actually in the mission of the marines. Sorry... semper fi.
Marine Sniper May 16, 2012 at 09:27 PM
Your sarcastically profound statements have left a profoundness to regurgitate. Couldn't you have used anything that would not possibly be suggested as plagiarism. Your ranting is all secondary garble that tries to associate itself with the topic at hand. Try to think for yourself. Your entire dialog is so undereducated. You first begin to create a sentence then you parenthesize it for no reason or meaning. Trying to act as though you have a GED does not work well for you.......Aren't you embarrassed? Semper Fi!
phxdr May 16, 2012 at 10:48 PM
I do think for myself as is the reason I do not follow the teachings of a ancient book, written by men who do nothing but garble. I find it ironic that you are critical of people on here who in your words "garble", are for equal rights yet you follow a book that can not even get its facts right! Thinking for yourself means that and not following fundamental fascists (who shall remain nameless). BTW Thanks to your service to the Vietnam people (because that is who you really fought for).
Billable Hours May 16, 2012 at 11:19 PM
Why, are we related? I'm more disappointed than anything because I respect the Marine Corps less now than I did when I woke up this morning! I do appreciate that my random thoughts during my lunch could be confused for something plagiarized even though it was only by a Dennis Miller wannabe be like yourself!
Marine Sniper May 17, 2012 at 12:10 PM
Bob, you asked of bonds that were formed amonghts we combatants. Remember, almost 60,000 lives were taken during the Vietnam "conflict". Where do I start? Being near death or knowing death could "find" you instantly is what we lived with. I could remember going on operations, patrols, and ambuses (night time), and I would be looking to the Marine in front of me and wonder if he would make it through the day. And wonder yet if that "person" would be me. And so many times that other Marine never made the day. There were, I believe, 7 Bronze Stars awarded from our platoon, 1 Medal of Honor and 2 Silver Stars. We had a rededication (reunion) for one of the recipents of the Silver Star. It went beautifully. This was the example of the fierce bond that was shared amongst us. We did not look for or anticipate parades, hand-shakes, and thank yous" when we returned home. We knew we left behind so much. I still feel so much of me is still left there. I believe a lot of us have not really come home. But that's, ok. I have no regrets. I will always remember the bonds we shared, good times, tears that were shed together, and alone. I loved my fellow Marines and brothers. That did not mean I wanted to engage in a sexual act with them. Semper Fi!
Bob May 17, 2012 at 12:32 PM
phxdr, once again you base your "knowledge" about us based upon your imagination ratehr than what we stated. Put up or shut up, phx, exactly where did I claim to be a Christian, or even bring Christianity into the argument? Nowhere. It seems you live in more of a fantasy world than anyone of faith; your prejudice against people of faith makes it necessary for you to sterotype as racist do because your arguments lack content, logic, historical context, and anything resmbling an open, reasoning mind. BTW, who's trying to silence you? Not us. Who's trying to "force" a Christian lifestyle on you? No one of which I'm aware. The only ones who've shown tyrannical oppressivesness here is the gay advocates, you want to force US to promote, subsidize and accept YOUR lifestyle, not the other way around. Phx, when truth is your enemy, deception is clearly your friend.
Bob May 17, 2012 at 12:34 PM
David, unlike Michelle Obama, I don't CARE what you choose to eat!LOL I'm glad you chose not to sodomize your friends today, and I'm sure your friends are just as glad!LOL
Bob May 17, 2012 at 12:42 PM
David, after 58 years of life I believe its clear that I have a better grip on reality than you. I actually was a college and high school teacher for three years, and I substituted at over a dozen local high schools when I had a more flexible schedule. If you don't think that public school and teacher attitude is a MAJOR contributiing factor to student failure, you really ought to get out more and learn a bit about public education. As far as "poor people being lazy", are you suggesting that a lazy person won't likely be poor? Are you suggesting that NO people who are poor are lazy or stupid? Are you suggesting that in America people who study hard, work hard, save hard, invest smart and don't screw up their lives by making poor choices and becoming single parents won't be prosperous? If you really think that, you truly are delusional, sonny.
Chronicles of Bob May 17, 2012 at 01:08 PM
Well Bob, if I used your own analysis, then apparently you were a bad teacher. However, you're pretty much wrong. It was nice of you to prove my point/assumptions, thanks!
lvent August 04, 2012 at 07:14 AM
We The People have become so incredibly judgemental of EACH OTHER. The Land of the "FREE" and the home of the Brave have been put through the wringer and the meat grinder by the corrupt politicians and the the criminal banks. They have been robbing the people of their rights, wealth, property and freedom EVERYDAY... for the last 11 years and we are squabbling over other peoples rights...? Our war is not with each other....READ SOME REAL HEADLINES....THIS IS WHO WE ARE REALLY AT WAR WITH, THE FOREIGN OWNED MULTINATIONAL GOVERNMENT CORP IS STEALING YOUR COUNTRY WHILE THEY CAUSE DIVISION BETWEEN THE PEOPLE..... http://4closurefraud.org/
lvent August 04, 2012 at 08:52 AM
They have social engineered us into believing the war is with each other when really it is with the Foreign controlled Corporate Global Government. They have us fighting over each others right to live their lives the way they want to. While they are stealing everything from US. In the YOU TUBE video of J.F.Ks speech on SECRET SOCIETIES he talks about the monolithic plan by this cabal to overthrow the creator's plan for everyone to be free and independent. .
kirsten February 25, 2013 at 09:55 PM
I THINK THIS IS TERIBBLE!!!!!!! WE SHOULD HAVE TO MAKE OUR OWN RIGHTS. THIS IS FREE COUNTRY COME ON IS THIS FOR REALLY REALLY I CANT BELEIVE COME ON THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO UPSETING COME ON WHAT IS THIS THIS HIS CRAY CRAY GIRL WAHTS HIS THIIS I AM SURE SICK OF THIS I MEAN COME ON IT'S PRETTY REDICK THIS IS CRA CRA PEEPS TERRI NVKX COEM ON KIIKASVBSIICJJWJ COME ON COME ON COME ON THIS IS IT THIS IS IT COME ON RTHXD KIRSNN KKSKKFJJJSO[ENQG DJVOWSJJS DSOVJKIRSNNN VKDDFBE ODJFETUS KREOGNJSN VJFIDSS COME ON LET

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something